top of page
  • Writer's pictureaku.kukkola

Spring, sprang, sprung

Now that the first year is officially over, I can wrap up this semester.


Like I said in my earlier blog post, the Autumn semester was more like a warm-up for the spring. After spending a month on vacation, I was ready to go back to school and full of enthusiasm. The transition from vacay mode to school rhythm was rather easy. 3-day school weeks made it ridiculously easy to cope with going to school again. But after a short reminder of the existence of school (read: the first few weeks), we certainly took the bull by its horns and started working with different - and for me - more essential issues, like the basics of Economics, Effective Marketing and Business Mathematics. Even though these courses were still on the grassroots, the content we went through took a small step towards being more theoretical than in Autumn. As the semester went on, the workload grew and the subjects got harder and harder, which was pleasantly challenging. Although I haven't yet received feedback or evaluations from all courses, I'm sure I did just fine.



The masterminds of our company, Personallet.


The only course that dealt more with the practical side of business during the semester was Project Planning. The business idea that we initiated in Autumn needed some flesh around it so we were admitted evolve it to the very next level and later on introduce it at the Oivalla fair. Calling to local advertising agencies, developing a business model canvas and creating a website made learning different and enjoyable. For me, the whole business project was really exciting and educational. Mainly because of that course, I deepened my skills to work in a team and found some essential points that I need to improve in the future. As a person, I like to execute things the way I see them. So, in my case, when it comes to operating in a group, like doing projects, or even smaller tasks, such as presentations, that often leads to the situation where I'm gathering a lot of tasks to myself rather than dividing of delegating those to others. I think the main thing I learned is that I should be able to control my perfectionistic character and trust the others and their contribution more.



At some point, I wish I had more lessons because I felt I had too much spare time during weeks - unlike in the weekends when I had a long-distance relationship to deal with, games to play and other work to do. But I managed to figure out how to divide my time between all these people and responsibilities and got through all of that unharmed and with honor. Some people said during spring I forgot to party, one said I shouldn't have partied even that much. I'll say that I focused on the other factors of life, like my financial situation, my relationship, sports and preparations for the future, such as making job applications, but I didn't forget to have fun occasionally.


What was the result?


I saw one of my bucket list artists, Italobrothers, I still have a girlfriend, I grew up as an athlete and, the last but not the least, I got a job! The fact that I'm broke doesn't really concern me when I look at the bright sides of these past four and a half months. So I'd say that the spring was a well-balanced entirety.


The first year was a thrilling experience, I made new friends and learned a lot from others and also myself. I'm looking forward to my second year among International Business studies.


Have a great summer!

33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

VLOG: Sales Skills

In order to pass the Sales Skills course we had to prepare a video about what we have learned during this course. Here's my piece of art, enjoy!

bottom of page