top of page
  • Writer's pictureaku.kukkola

Privacy, digital identity and rules of conduct

Updated: Aug 29, 2018


I took a part on the conversation in Slack. You can find it in here.


If the link doesn't work, copy this to your browser:

https://sometool.slack.com/archives/CA5K7J9E2/p1529071405000332


2A - Privacy policy in social media


What privacy aspects should employees be aware while using social media tools?

- Employees must be aware that they somehow represent the company also in their free time. Privacy settings must be checked before publishing anything that might have an effect on the employer/company a user works for. If something is published, an employee is fully responsible for the content and willing to correct possible errors.


What are the benefits of openness and transparency (i.e. we can identify participants in online discussions, we can see in what company people are working)?

- In social media platforms such as LinkedIn and Facebook, the state of employment is really visible and especially LinkedIn, it is the thing that those are within reach. It can help the employers to find new and qualified employees via these networks. Also, in both applications, people write/update behind their own names, so the responsibility aspect is immediate.


When is it beneficial for the employer and employees to share personal information online?

- What I said in the earlier answer. In addition, then they can communicate better and get to know each other as a person. It breaks the barrier of "upper and lower level" and then it is possible that people can work more effectively when they know who they are working with. When I apply for the job, I would like to know what kind of person is my boss or what kind of other people there are working too.


What kind of damage can occur if privacy is not taken care of?

- Wrong information can be wind up in the wrong hand and that can lead, in worst cases, to firing people and reputation damages to the employer/company represented. For example, an employee hits a rabbit while driving the company's vehicle, then stops and takes a selfie of it. After that, he publishes it on Facebook and adds a joke in the comment section. Although it is published on a personal account, company's logo can be seen on the side of the vehicle. And the internet rage starts... (This is very unlikely to happen, but I just wanted to make a point).


2B - Digital identity


I've said it before and I'll say it again: if you're not on the internet, you don't exist. That phrase is valid when it comes to this matter too. Digital identity is a big deal nowadays. And, in my opinion, it's becoming a too big deal, because anyone can edit their profile to be anything. The possibility of modifying pictures and information has created an illusion, what I call "I'm cooler on Instagram". Social pressure is so big that social media users frame their pictures quite often. Through pictures, life can be framed to be better than in reality it is. When it comes to making fake identities, it's ridiculously easy to make one. Putting up an email address takes two minutes and setting up an account another two. Luckily, within the development of technology, we've become more aware of the dangers of the internet and understood that cyber-safety is now and will be a crucial part of the world of tomorrow.







I googled myself and found what I expected to find. Pictures from Instagram and Facebook, some links to my social media accounts, web news links and so on, nothing ground-breaking. I also have an uncommon name combination, so I really can't be mixed easily with someone else. The information found is mainly correct, some of them are just outdated and old, like my transfer news from my hometown's team to the one in Kouvola.


It's been discussed a lot lately that does an individual have control on the information they put on the internet, mainly because of the new GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation) which was set by the European Union. I feel that I have control over what I put into the internet, but once it's there then I lose it partially. Information can be deleted from one's own pages, but the information will remain in applications servers and that way can be spread around the internet. I found some of my old Instagram photos, that I have already deleted from Instagram when I did a google search of myself. I wasn't surprised because I have acknowledged the fact that once you put something on the internet, it's possible that it'll stay there until the end of time. I just have to live with it and I will.


In my opinion, there must be some sort of information about politicians, CEOs and other people that have a high position in a company. By this, I don't mean, that there should be family trees and home addresses, but the necessary info, about what he/she is doing. I feel that if there's literally nothing, it would be weird - technology and being online is so ordinary nowadays.


2C - The code of conduct in social media


This is an excellent subject to talk about. How to behave online - so massive subject today. This should be taught to every child starting from elementary school. Sometimes, I feel that internet should be banned from those who can't behave and/or don't know how to use it. Social media and discussing online has lowered the boundary to behave well. This has led to people talking less face-to-face and byproducts in standard behaving being a part of everyday life on the internet.


This problem is also present in working life. Workplace bullying has increased over the past decade. The code of conduct for online is very welcome in all workplaces and companies around the world. I think it should be introduced at least briefly when a new laborer signs a work agreement, and later on more specifically, for example within the first weeks. I personally see that rules are made in the executive level and that those should be visible somewhere in a workplace/available as a file on company's online group etc.


I gathered a list of guidelines from my own perspective what should be there.


1. Employees represent the company and should be aware that their thoughts could be linked to the company if the information of employment is visible for all.

2. Strongly criticising the workplace, other colleagues and/or foremen on social media is prohibited.

3. They must acquire respectable behaviour while being present online and are solely responsible for all the posts they make.

4. They must not unveil any ticklish information about the company and/or it's campaigns, events or give away other important material.


Summary


My main concern about privacy is the increasing number of cyber-crimes, what, in worst case, can lead to chaos. What if hackers develop their skills faster than safety does? Or what if machines start to learn? Like, too intelligent artificial intelligence? Okay, that's a long shot (or is it?) but seems plausible in a distant future. All of that personal information online, and the fact that, world is becoming dependent of the internet and as the wheel of evolving technology spins, forms an alarming combo.


I wasn't surprised because I have acknowledged the fact that once you put something to internet, it's possible that it'll stay there until the end of time. I just have to live with it and I will.


Last but not the least. Having a guide for social media is nowadays basic stuff for companies. I called my dad, who's an entrepreneur, and asked his opinion of my guidelines. He fully approved it.


I also managed to find an encompassing list of guidelines for social media use by Washington State Department of Transportation.


If the link doesn't work, copy this to your browser:

https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/documents/DOT_SocialMediaPolicy_2014.pdf


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page